I was introduced to Voicethread while attending FETC, but never played around with it until a few weeks ago. Now I wish I had tried it out first! Voicethread is an online program that you can use for free. There are pay options as well, but so far everything I have done with it has been free. What I have found out is that you can only create five voicethreads with the free account, so that may be a reason to upgrade! However, you can assign your students to create the voicethread in their account, which will not limit your account. Also, you can delete voicethreads that you no longer need.

First create an account and have your students create their own accounts, or create one for them. Then click CREATE. Here you will upload the pictures and comment on the picture to explain the assignment. When you finish you will click share. Here you can add your student accounts to give them access to the voicethread. The explanation video can be found here.

My Voicethreads:

Israel voicethread from my class

Character voicethread for future class

Voicethreads created by others that may interest you:
Virtual Museum

Two digit by two digit subtraction

Book Talk– So Totally Emily Ebers

So I have shown you a way to incorporate voicethread in Reading, Social Studies, and Writing. How else can you use it? Please leave a comment with ideas for use!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *