Who will read your posts?

  • At first your readers will be just the people you tell about your blog. At first, my blog was only shared with teachers at my school. Then I thought, well if I am doing all this, why not let more people see it. So I started sharing the link in Facebook and with my teacher friends via email. At FETC2014, I entered the Twitterverse and began to share my blog posts with my PLN, through Chats, and with hashtags. The more you promote your blog, the more readers you will reach.
  • My platform, Edublogs, has also promoted my posts on a few occasions, as well as FETC and other conferences I have attended. I share my blog site at each conference presentation I give. Connecting with or writing about a specific company will often get you more attention and draw more readers to your blog.

What platform will you use to publish your blog?

  • I use www.edublogs.org as my hosting site. It is free, easy, and can be used on a computer, tablet, or phone.
  • Other options include Weebly, Blogger, WordPress, and Tumblr. If you have GAFE, one of the Apps is Sites. You can use this to build a website where you post your blog. I suggest trying them out and finding what works best for you.

When will you publish at a certain day/time or as the mood strikes?  

  • There are educators who blog daily, like Richard Byrne from Free Technology for Teachers. Vicki Davis, the brains behind Cool Cat Teacher, blogs several times a week. My husband and I agreed on once a week blog posts, if I wrote more I would never get anything else done! Now, every Monday I publish a blog post on my Monday Tech Minute Blog. I share a tool, an idea, or takeaways from conferences I have attended.
  • You can always write when the mood strikes and then schedule posts to publish when you want them live.

Where can I get more info on blogging?

  • If you would like ideas for blogging, search #tribeofbloggers on Twitter. This amazing group of educators are working together to help build blogging communities. There are also lists of educational bloggers to check out from WeAreTeachers, EducatorsTechnology, and of course the bloggers here at Imagine Easy.

Why should you blog?

  • When the blogging idea came around for me I was worried people would consider it bragging or showing off to tell what was going on in my classroom. I realized it is more about sharing my successes and failures with others so they can be inspired, build from my ideas, and in turn share their ideas with others.
  • Blogging helps you become a more reflective practioner of the teaching trade. Even if no one reads my blog I still would write it because I use it to better myself and my understanding of my teaching profession and technology integration.
  • Blogging expands your professional network. You connect with other teachers around the world and build your personal learning network. If someone has already created a how to guide, a rubric, or a lesson plan why should others have to do it again? Even if readers don’t use the products or ideas I share, they still get ideas to build on.   

How do I start?

  • If you aren’t sure about posting online, start with a notebook journal. Keep a list of things that worked and didn’t work.
  • Start with micro-blogging on Twitter. 140 characters keeps you on target with your message.
  • Find a group of people who will be your audience. Keep it small, write from the heart, and when are ready publish to the world.

 

One Reply to “Why I blog and you should too!”

  1. I work with teachers and students in our district and promote blogging as well. Other ways to get started is have them dictate their blog (using RW4GC or VoiceNote Chrome extension) or an audio/video note. As well, they can jot down ideas and develop their blog post later. Finally, make time to blog and read blogs – schedule it in your calendar. See some of my posts at http://ottomat3ch.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *