Thursday and Friday I had the great priveledge of attending Miami Device for free! How you ask? Well I saw a post on Twitter that you could win if you made a movie telling why you wanted to come and how you would use your knowledge from the event. So I did and I won! Here is my award winning short film lol!                                                                 https://youtu.be/57_a8Ge_Bv0

I was amazed at the speaker line up and had a meltdown trying to figure out my schedule because I wanted to be everywhere at once. I had some major “fangirl” moments running into and meeting some of my Twitter folks! I also got to see friends from past conferences, as well.

I finally settled on my choices and was thrilled with what I chose. Sometimes at conferences you end up with a class that doesn’t really apply to you  and you lose an hour or so of valuable learning. At Miami Device every class was a winner …iPad and phone both died each day from all of the pictures, notes, and downloading! I wanted to share my take away’s with you from this amazing conference.

*Create a class hashtag. I have been sharing my class awesomeness on Twitter with my school @ehillel tag, but now I will also add #mrspmedia to brand myself and my kids amazing work.

*10 minute snapshots at faculty meetings. One teacher shares each meeting one cool thing they are doing in their class and how it is going.

*My happiest moment was learning about SafeShare.TV. It allows you to post Youtube URLs and share movies without the ads and side bars. YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*MathTrain is student made videos about their math skills. Kids teaching kids!

*EdPuzzle allows you to break up videos and insert questions for students to answer before continuing to watch.

*Teach procedures for the technology. Use catch phrases to remind kids of expectations. “Apples Up” means turn your iPads over and stop working. “Click Close” close your laptops.

*Innovate like a turtle, one thing at a time.

*FakeBook allows you to make profiles for people in history and scientific elements.

*Cosmic Kids Yoga can help center and calm students after an exciting lesson.

*Isolation is a choice, create your connections and grow.

*George Couros can make you laugh one second and cry the next….he cries with you!

*3 things all high school graduates should have: professional social network, digital portfolios, about.me page

*Your positives should be so loud the negatives are impossible to hear!

*Tony Vincent is a machine!

*Set up centers with task cards that explain the center, use QR codes to help guide and lead.

*Vocaro records your voice and gives a URL, QR code, and MP3 file.

*Compliment generator- LOVE THIS! Need a compliment? Click here!

*Free books for K-2 http://uniteforliteracy.com/

*Collect student work with dropitto.me

*To get an APP icon without the screenshot and crop hassle, www.appshopper.com

* Take a box, add acoustic tiles and create a recording studio!!!!!

*Kyle Pace has great tools for searching! I am going to write a whole post just on this later.

*Want to play and find out how well you search? http://www.agoogleaday.com/

*Jenny Ashby has some cool toys to use in the coding classroom!

*Want to include coding in real life? Knitting is coding, creating a timeline of your life is coding, life is coding!

*Coding lessons based on student interest check out http://www.cs-first.com/

*The Tickle APP will connect with multiple programs to control and program Dot and Dash, Sphero, and more!

*I want a rolling spider drone.

*Nearpod could be your favorite tool ever,

*GhostLens APP is simple and fun way to make a movie with a spooky view.

*Koma Koma- stop motion animation

*Bubbli 360 degree view of the the world- think virtual field trips

*There is nothing comfortable about courage -Seth Godin

*Step out, be brave, be bold, YOU MATTER!

Well that was a whirlwind!

I had an amazing time learning, connecting, and reflecting on my work in the classroom. I am going to be changing some things, improving some things, and making sure I share all the amazing things we are doing with my new hashtag… #mrspmedia.

What were your big flashes of brilliance? What will you be innovating next?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *